Home > Oak Knoll Books, Oak Knoll Press > Epitaph: Saying Goodbye to a Great Oak Knoller

Epitaph: Saying Goodbye to a Great Oak Knoller

September 8, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tim Wilder

Alas, bibliophiles and blog-followers, it is time for me to end my sojourn in the antiquarian book world. For those of you who read my first post (Thanks to those who commented!), you know that I am going to get married soon. My wedding will be on September 18th, and after that I will be moving with my bride to Mount Joy, PA in Lancaster County, after which I will be busy looking for a new job while cooking wonderful meals for me and my working wife. On that note, if any of you needs a polite and responsible Customer Service and Problem Solver person, I know of a guy…

But enough with the shameless self-marketing.  I have had a good journey here at Oak Knoll, from my time as a part-time Book Cataloguer during my college years to the present where I have served as the Head of Customer Service, Problem Solver, and Bookkeeper. I have been exposed to many new things and ideas here in this jungle of bibliomania, and I have made my own small contributions to the Oak Knoll culture as well, the most important of which has been my role as Founder and Head Serviceman of CFTMMT, (or Chinese Food Thursday Morale Management Technique), which has significantly boosted employee morale. I just hope that my legacy remains and that someone will be able to carry on the banner and build upon where I left off. In the end, I am satisfied because the circle is now complete, and my last day will be the best day of the week…Chinese Food Thursday.

For your reading pleasure, I leave you now with this limerick tercet which I believe partially represents my time here:

To you patrons with problems and doubts
It’s best not to shout, flout, or pout
There is a good chance
With an ounce of patience
That your problems will sort themselves out.

I’m a Book-keeper in a bookstore
and I’m one of the best you’ll look for
Books don’t get out of line
And I keep them confined
So how come the money’s no more?

My thanks to Oak Knoll and its staff
For all of the memories and laughs
We have had tons of fun
And we’ve barely begun
So let’s pour from another carafe!

–Tim, Bookkeeping and Customer Service

Next week we will introduce Barbara, Oak Knoll’s new bookkeeper, and Chris, our new problem solver!

  1. Laura Williams
    September 9, 2010 at 11:05 am

    We will miss you, Tim!

  2. Kimberly
    September 9, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    He’s so dreamy. 🙂
    Congratulations, Tim, on a job well done at Oak Knoll! I am so proud of you and what you have accomplished, and I’m thinking you should start writing a book of limericks, or at least start your own blog since you’re such a gifted writer. I hope that your farewell to Oak Knoll today went well and that your Chinese food was tasty. I look forward to the wonderful meals I’ll be enjoying soon!

  3. Kimberly
    September 9, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Oh and… Happy Birthday!

  4. Jayme
    September 10, 2010 at 7:31 am

    *Wishes she had CFTMMT at her work* Sounds like your time there has been well-spent. Congrats on closing this chapter of your life, and good luck finding somewhere else to spread your brilliant ideas.

  5. andrea
    September 10, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    you’re funny.
    and i think you need to edit this one part so it says: “…after which I will be busy looking for a new job while cooking wonderful meals for me and my working wife (and our friend andrea).”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

