Home > Oak Knoll Books, Oak Knoll Press > Goodbye to Danielle and Hello to James

Goodbye to Danielle and Hello to James

It is with mixed emotions that I announce this Friday will be my last day at Oak Knoll Books and Press. I am sad to be leaving a group of people that has made this job a wonderful beginning for me, but I am also very excited to be soon moving to a new city and pursuing a new avenue in my career.

With just over two years at Oak Knoll under my belt, I can still remember my first day—the smell of books, the new faces, the curiosity as to how I would like my new job, the wonder of how I would remember all the titles and authors and all the other small details that would be required for my job. Many thoughts were flowing through my mind, and while it’s normal to be nervous on your first day at a new position, I distinctly remember everyone at Oak Knoll being so friendly and welcoming that I immediately felt at home at my new job.

I have certainly learned a lot in my time as Publishing and Marketing Assistant, and I cannot thank everyone at Oak Knoll enough for the experience, skills, guidance, and knowledge they have provided me. This bookshop will always hold a very special place in my heart, and I wish the best of luck to everyone, especially James who will be taking over my position. I know he will do a great job.

To all the authors, customers, journals, booksellers, and others I have worked with during my time at Oak Knoll, I have enjoyed getting to know you, and you have also made my experience at Oak Knoll enjoyable.

-Danielle

Well, my time here at Oak Knoll has been enjoyable. And I’m sure it will continue to be after I take on the mantle of Publishing and Marketing Assistant. I feel like I learned so much about the book world in my previous position, but I know there’s still so much to learn.

Obviously, since I’m starting in this new position, it means saying goodbye to Danielle. Word from those that have been here at Oak Knoll for a while is that she’s one of the best Publishing and Marketing Assistants to come through. I hope I can live up to that. The two of us will certainly be working to create as smooth a transition as possible.

I’m never really sure how to end these things, so I’ll finish with this. While it isn’t quite what I thought my mathematics degree would lead to, I’m glad this is how things have turned out for me so far.

-James

  1. Prof Gay Gorman, University of Malaya
    March 14, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Good luck to Danielle! As Editor and/or Reviews Editor of three international journals, I have found her invariably responsive, helpful and pleasant when dealing with my requests for review titles, and then with the ensuing published reviews. And she is going on to a great university. All the very best from a satisfied client….

  2. Prof Gary Gorman, University of Malaya
    March 14, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    My name correction below!

  3. Danielle
    March 14, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Dear Gary,

    Thank you very much for your kind words. You have been wonderful to work with as well. I will miss corresponding with you and all of those who have made my time at Oak Knoll so enjoyable! Thanks, Gary!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

